Mobile setup tool
Mobile car detailing vacuums, compared
Ten vacuums from the specs of their six brands: amps, airflow, sealed suction, hose, cord, and blower. Then check one with your steam cleaner on an outlet or generator.
Will it run with your steam cleaner?
Pick a vacuum and, if you use one, a steam cleaner. Add the amps of any other tool that runs at the same time, then choose where the power comes from.
Choose a vacuum to see its load.
What to check in a vacuum for mobile detailing
- Power: the ten models draw 5.5 to 19 amps, or 660 W to 2,280 W at 120 volts. The MetroVac Super Vac N Blaster is over a 15 amp circuit on its own. A 15 amp circuit gives 1,800 W, so no vacuum and steam cleaner pair here fits on one. Plan them on separate circuits or at different times.
- Airflow and suction: airflow (CFM) runs from 52 to 240 where the maker states it, and sealed suction from 48 to 140 inches. These are each maker's own figures, except Kärcher's suction, which we converted from 260 mbar. Shop-Vac, Vacmaster, and Armor All say they test to an ASTM standard with a hose on. MetroVac says its figures are "measured from full opening" and that "variations will occur with attachments." Kärcher does not say how it measures. DEWALT states neither figure.
- Peak HP: Shop-Vac calls it "a term used in the wet-dry vacuum industry for consumer comparison purposes" and says it "does not denote the operational horsepower of a wet-dry vacuum." Compare amps, CFM, and sealed suction instead.
- Wet or dry: MetroVac Vac N Blo, MetroVac Vac N Blo Pro, and MetroVac Super Vac N Blaster are bagged canisters. MetroVac says the two Vac N Blo models are "designed for dry vacuuming only," and the Super Vac N Blaster instructions say not to use it on wet surfaces. All three also work as blowers and come with an inflator tip or adaptor. The other seven are wet/dry vacs.
- Hose and cord: hoses run from 6 ft to 30 ft, and cords from 10 ft to 26 ft. Hose widths run from 1-1/4 in (Armor All) to 2-1/2 in (Vacmaster 16 gallon); MetroVac does not state its hose width. Tank sizes are the drum volume. Vacmaster says its tank size "does not reflect capacity available during operation."
- Car tools: only the Vacmaster 5 gallon and the Armor All list a car nozzle. The MetroVac models come with upholstery and micro detailing tools.
Shop vacs and detailing vacuums compared
| Model | Planner watts | Airflow (CFM) | Sealed suction | Wet pick-up | Tank | Hose | Cord | Weight | Blower | Detailing tools included | Peak HP (maker) | Maker price | Extension cord | Shop |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetroVac Vac N Blo (VNB-83BA, VNB-94BD, VNB4AFBR)product page, info sheet, instructions | 1,350 W, about 11.3 A1,350 W and 11.25 A stated. The maker's instructions PDF says 10.8 A and 1,170 W for all VNB models. Add to power planner: MetroVac Vac N Blo (VNB-83BA, VNB-94BD, VNB4AFBR) | 142 (spec table, at the full opening). The page text also says "95 CFM". | 95 in (seal suction, at the full opening) | No. The maker says "designed for dry vacuuming only." | None: a bagged canister | 6 ft (two hoses on the VNB4AFBR). Diameter not stated. | 12 ft | 10 lb | Yes. Also an inflator. | Upholstery nozzle, crevice tool, 2 extension wands, blower nozzle, dust brush, micro tool kit, inflator adaptor. VNB-94BD adds a floor brush and dolly; VNB4AFBR adds a wall bracket. | 4.0 | $365.99 to $422.99 by model | Not stated. Use a grounded outlet only. | Search Amazon for the MetroVac Vac N Blo (VNB-83BA, VNB-94BD, VNB4AFBR) |
| MetroVac Vac N Blo Pro (PRO-83BA-CS)product page, info sheet, instructions | 1,350 W, about 11.3 A1,350 W and 11.25 A stated. Add to power planner: MetroVac Vac N Blo Pro (PRO-83BA-CS) | 142 (spec table, at the full opening) | 95 in (seal suction, at the full opening) | No. The maker says "designed for dry vacuuming only." | None: a bagged canister | 30 ft commercial hose. Diameter not stated. | 12 ft | 13 lb | Yes. Also an inflator. | Upholstery nozzle, crevice and large crevice tools, claw tool, 2 extension wands, blower nozzle, dust brush, inflator tip, micro tool kit, floor/wall brush, tool caddy, hose hanger, wall bracket. | 4.0 | $545.99 | Not stated. Use a grounded outlet only. | Search Amazon for the MetroVac Vac N Blo Pro (PRO-83BA-CS) |
| MetroVac Super Vac N Blasterproduct page, info sheet, instructions | 2,280 W, about 19 A2,280 W and 19 A stated. Add to power planner: MetroVac Super Vac N Blaster | 240 (at the full opening) | 140 in (sealed suction, at the full opening) | No. The instructions say not to use it on wet surfaces. | None: a bagged canister | 30 ft for vacuuming, 10 ft for the blower. Diameter not stated. | 12 ft | 20 lb | Yes, with an inflator tip. The maker calls it a touchless dryer for paint and chrome. | Upholstery nozzle, crevice and large crevice tools, claw tool, 2 extension wands, blower nozzle, dust brush, inflator tip, micro tool kit, floor/wall brush, tool caddy, wall bracket, 10 bags. | 8.0 (two 4.0 motors) | $856.99 | Not stated. The unit must be grounded. | Search Amazon for the MetroVac Super Vac N Blaster |
| Shop-Vac 5 Gallon 6.0 Peak HP Portable (5872911)product page, manual | 1,416 W, about 11.8 A11.8 A stated, × 120 V. Add to power planner: Shop-Vac 5 Gallon 6.0 Peak HP Portable (5872911) | 90 max (ASTM, with a 1.5 in hose) | 50 in (sealed pressure, ASTM) | Yes, wet and dry | 5 gal | 8 ft × 1.5 in | 20 ft | Not stated | Yes, rear blower port | Claw utility nozzle, crevice tool, adaptor, tool holder. No car nozzle. | 6.0 | $217.46 | 3-conductor grounding cord, outdoor rated, wire size from the manual's table. | Search Amazon for the Shop-Vac 5 Gallon 6.0 Peak HP Portable (5872911) |
| Shop-Vac 10 Gallon 4.5 Peak HP (5761011)product page, manual | 1,188 W, about 9.9 A9.9 A stated, × 120 V. Add to power planner: Shop-Vac 10 Gallon 4.5 Peak HP (5761011) | 95 max (ASTM, with a 1.5 in hose) | 64 in (sealed pressure, ASTM) | Yes, wet and dry | 10 gal | 7 ft × 1.5 in | 12 ft | Not stated | Yes, rear blower port | 2 extension wands, 12 in wet/dry floor nozzle. No crevice tool or car nozzle listed. | 4.5 | $116.99 | 2-conductor outdoor cord (double insulated), wire size from the manual's table. | Search Amazon for the Shop-Vac 10 Gallon 4.5 Peak HP (5761011) |
| Vacmaster Beast 5 Gallon (VFB511H 0201)product page, manual | 1,320 W, about 11 A11 A stated, × 120 V. Add to power planner: Vacmaster Beast 5 Gallon (VFB511H 0201) | 102 (ASTM, at the hose end) | 82 in (ASTM, at the hose end) | Yes, wet and dry | 5 gal | 7 ft × 1-7/8 in | 18 ft | 12 lb | Yes, converts to a blower | Extension wand, utility nozzle, car nozzle, crevice tool, air/noise diffuser. | 5.5 | $109.99 | Outdoor rated. At 11 A the manual's table says 16 AWG to 50 ft, 14 AWG to 100 ft. | Search Amazon for the Vacmaster Beast 5 Gallon (VFB511H 0201) |
| Vacmaster Beast 16 Gallon (VJH1612PF 0202)product page, manual | 1,440 W, about 12 A12 A stated, × 120 V. Add to power planner: Vacmaster Beast 16 Gallon (VJH1612PF 0202) | 145 (ASTM, at the hose end) | 64 in (ASTM, at the hose end) | Yes, wet and dry | 16 gal | 7 ft × 2-1/2 in | 22 ft | 19.49 lb | Yes (manual: blower port) | 2 extension wands, utility nozzle, crevice tool, floor brush/squeegee, air/noise diffuser. No car nozzle. | 6.5 | $179.99 | Outdoor rated. At 12 A the manual's table says 16 AWG to 50 ft, 14 AWG to 100 ft. | Search Amazon for the Vacmaster Beast 16 Gallon (VJH1612PF 0202) |
| Armor All 2.5 Gallon Wet/Dry Car Vac (VOM205P 0903)product page, manual | 660 W, about 5.5 A5.5 A stated, × 120 V. Add to power planner: Armor All 2.5 Gallon Wet/Dry Car Vac (VOM205P 0903) | 52 (ASTM, at the hose end) | 48 in (ASTM, at the hose end) | Yes, wet and dry | 2.5 gal | 6 ft × 1-1/4 in | 10 ft | 7.85 lb | Yes (manual: blower port) | Car nozzle, 6-piece detail kit, crevice tool, utility nozzle, pet hair rake, inflator adapter. | 2 | $79.99 (sold out on the maker's store on October 30, 2026) | Outdoor rated. At 5.5 A the manual's table says 18 AWG to 25 ft, 16 AWG to 100 ft. | Search Amazon for the Armor All 2.5 Gallon Wet/Dry Car Vac (VOM205P 0903) |
| DEWALT 9 Gallon Poly Wet/Dry Vacuum (DXV09P)product page, manual | 1,200 W, about 10 A10 A stated, × 120 V. Add to power planner: DEWALT 9 Gallon Poly Wet/Dry Vacuum (DXV09P) | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, wet and dry | 9 gal | 7 ft × 1-7/8 in | 10 ft | Not stated | Yes, built-in blower port | 2 extension wands, crevice nozzle, floor nozzle, utility nozzle, accessory bag. No car nozzle. | 5 | Not stated on the maker's site | Outdoor rated. 14 AWG up to 50 ft, 12 AWG from 50 to 100 ft. | Search Amazon for the DEWALT 9 Gallon Poly Wet/Dry Vacuum (DXV09P) |
| Kärcher WD 5 P (1.628-311.0)product page, product sheet, range page | 1,200 W, about 10 A120 V × 10 A. The maker states 1,100 W. Amps from Kärcher's U.S. range page: 10 A, plus up to 6 A for the tool outlet on the vacuum, 15 A max in total. Add to power planner: Kärcher WD 5 P (1.628-311.0) | 156 (product page). The maker's range chart shows 76. | 260 mbar (about 104 in of water, our conversion) | Yes, wet and dry | 6.6 gal (4.2 gal usable, the maker's FAQ says) | 11.5 ft × 1.38 in | 26 ft | 19.2 lb | Yes, blower function | Switchable wet/dry floor nozzle, crevice nozzle, power tool adapter. No car nozzle. | Not stated | $229.99 MSRP (the maker's range page) | Not stated in the documents we could read. | Search Amazon for the Kärcher WD 5 P (1.628-311.0) |
Planner watts are the higher of the maker's stated input watts and 120 volts × its stated amps. Volts × amps is at or above the true watts, so the figure errs high, which is the safe side for sizing. Shop-Vac, Vacmaster, and Armor All also print "air watts", and Kärcher prints "suction power" in watts. Those are suction figures, not the power the vacuum draws, so they are not used here. Where a maker's own pages disagree, the table shows both figures. "Add to power planner" opens the power planner with that vacuum as a tool, so you can add a steam cleaner, extractor, or pressure washer and size a generator for the whole job.
Questions
How many amps does a shop vac for detailing use?
The 10 vacuums here list 5.5 to 19 amps at 120 volts, or 660 W to 2,280 W. Seven of them draw 10 to 12 amps. Use the figure on your own unit's label.
Can I run a shop vac and a steam cleaner on one outlet?
Not on a 15 amp circuit with any pair we compared. A 15 amp circuit at 120 volts gives 1,800 W. Our smallest steam cleaner uses 1,450 W and our smallest vacuum 660 W, which is 2,110 W together. On a 20 amp circuit (2,400 W), six of the 100 vacuum and steamer pairs fit, all with the Armor All 2.5 Gallon Wet/Dry Car Vac. Run the two at different times, use separate circuits, or size a generator for both.
What do CFM and water lift mean on a vacuum?
CFM is airflow: how much air the vacuum moves each minute. Water lift, also called sealed pressure or sealed suction, is how hard it pulls with the hose blocked. Shop-Vac says it "represents how far up a glass tube a vacuum motor will lift a column of water." Makers do not all measure the same way. Shop-Vac, Vacmaster, and Armor All say they test to an ASTM standard with a hose on. MetroVac says it measures "from full opening." Kärcher does not say how it measures.
What does peak HP mean on a shop vac?
Shop-Vac calls peak horsepower "a term used in the wet-dry vacuum industry for consumer comparison purposes" and says it "does not denote the operational horsepower of a wet-dry vacuum." Compare amps for power draw, and CFM and water lift for suction.
Can a detailing vacuum pick up water?
Seven of the ten are wet/dry vacs. MetroVac says the Vac N Blo and Vac N Blo Pro are "designed for dry vacuuming only." The Super Vac N Blaster instructions say not to use it on wet surfaces. For wet carpet and upholstery work, use a wet/dry vac or an extractor.
Sources and limits
Each model's product page and manual or spec sheet, linked in the table, read October 30, 2026. Prices are from each maker's own store on that date, or its range page for Kärcher; DEWALT shows none. RIDGID is not in the table: its site blocked our requests, and we use no retailer figures. CRAFTSMAN is not in the table: its page and manual state no amps, airflow, or suction. Nobody tested these machines for this page. The check adds the numbers you choose. It does not approve an outlet, cord, or generator. Read your own unit's label, then plan the whole job in the power planner. For steamer figures, see the steam cleaner comparison. For a fuel generator, follow the outdoor rules on the power planner page.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details. The Amazon links are model-name searches. We did not review the listings.