Mobile setup tool
Steam cleaners for car detailing, compared
Ten steam cleaners from the specs of their five makers: watts, steam pressure, heat-up, and whether you can refill while running. Then check one on your outlet or generator.
Will it run on your outlet or generator?
Pick a steam cleaner, add the amps of a vacuum or extractor that runs with it, and choose where the power comes from.
Choose a steam cleaner to see its load.
What to check in a steam cleaner for mobile detailing
- Power: the ten models draw 1,450 W to 1,900 W, about 12.1 to 15.8 amps at 120 volts. With any of them running, a 15 amp outlet has at most 350 W left for anything else. The Vapamore MR-1000 Forza is over the 1,800 W limit on its own, though its maker states 15 A. A 20 amp outlet leaves 500 W to 950 W. Dupray and McCulloch say to run no other high-wattage appliance on the same circuit. So run the steamer and the vacuum or extractor at different times, or on separate circuits.
- Refill while running: five of the ten can be refilled while running: Dupray Neat Plus, Dupray Hill Injection, Vapamore MR-1000 Forza, Vapor Clean Pro6 Duo, and Kärcher SC 3 EasyFix. The Dupray Neat, Dupray Tosca, McCulloch MC1385, McCulloch MC1375, and Vapamore MR-100 Primo must be switched off and cooled before you open the cap. Dupray asks for 10 minutes on the Tosca and at least 20 on the Neat.
- Pressure and heat: stated steam pressure runs from 44 psi (Kärcher SC 3) to 121 psi (Dupray Hill Injection). Temperatures do not compare well: some makers give the boiler, Vapamore also gives the tip for the Forza, and others do not say where they measure.
- Built for which use: Dupray calls the Neat and Neat Plus "designed for regular residential use". Vapamore names "auto shops and detailing" among Forza users.
Steam cleaners compared
| Model | Planner watts | Refill while running? | Steam pressure | Temperature | Water | Heat-up | Extension cord | Shop |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dupray Neat (DUP020WNA)product page, range page, manual | 1,500 W, about 12.5 A1,500 W and 12.5 A stated. | No. Switch off and wait at least 20 minutes to cool before refilling. | 50 psi (3.5 bar) | Up to 275 °F inside the unit | 54 oz boiler (the manual fills to 40 oz). Up to 50 min per fill. | 8 min | Not stated. Run no other high-wattage appliance on the same circuit. | Search Amazon for the Dupray Neat (DUP020WNA) |
| Dupray Neat Plus (DUP030GNA)product page, range page, manual | 1,620 W, about 13.5 A120 V × 13.5 A. The maker states 1,600 W. | Yes. The manual says it "can be refilled at any time during operation". | Not stated | Up to 275 °F | 54 oz tank (the manual says 60 oz max). Cleaning time: "Unlimited". | 90 s to 2 min | Not stated. Run no other high-wattage appliance on the same circuit. | Search Amazon for the Dupray Neat Plus (DUP030GNA) |
| Dupray Toscaproduct page, manual | 1,800 W, about 15 A120 V × 15 A. The maker states 1,600 W. | No. Switch the boiler off, let it cool 10 minutes, and release the pressure before you open the cap. | 72.5 psi (5 bar) | Up to 316 °F in the boiler | 1 gal boiler, filled with up to 0.5 gal. 60 to 90 min per fill. | 7 to 10 min | If needed: 15 A rated, 3-prong grounded, for outdoor use. Use a 15 or 20 A outlet with no other high-wattage appliance on the circuit. | Search Amazon for the Dupray Tosca |
| Dupray Hill Injectionproduct page, manual | 1,800 W, about 15 A120 V × 15 A. The maker states 1,600 W. | Yes. The manual says it "can be refilled at anytime during operation". | 121 psi (8 bar), both as the maker states them | Up to 345 °F in the boiler | 1.5 L boiler fed from a 3 L water tank. Cleaning time: "Unlimited". | 7 min | If needed: 15 A rated, 3-prong grounded, for outdoor use. Use a 15 or 20 A outlet with no other high-wattage appliance on the circuit. | Search Amazon for the Dupray Hill Injection |
| McCulloch MC1385product page, manual, safety sheet | 1,500 W, about 12.5 A1,475 or 1,500 W stated, and 12 A. | No. Switch off, unplug, and let it cool. The cap will not open while hot or under pressure. | Up to 58 psi | Over 200 °F (the same page also says over 212 °F) | 64 oz tank. 120 min of steam per fill. | 12 min (manual: up to 15) | If needed: rated at or above the steamer's current. Run no other high-wattage appliance on the same circuit. | Search Amazon for the McCulloch MC1385 |
| McCulloch MC1375product page, manual, safety sheet | 1,500 W, about 12.5 A1,470 or 1,500 W stated, and 12 A. | No. Switch off, unplug, and let it cool. The cap will not open while hot or under pressure. | Up to 58 psi | Over 200 °F | 48 oz tank. 90 min of steam per fill. | 10 min (manual: up to 15) | If needed: rated at or above the steamer's current. Run no other high-wattage appliance on the same circuit. | Search Amazon for the McCulloch MC1375 |
| Vapamore MR-100 Primoproduct page, manual (2017) | 1,500 W, about 12.5 A1,500 W stated. Amps not stated. | No. Unplug it and let it cool completely before you open the cap. | 50 psi (3.5 bar) max | 210 to 220 °F | 1.6 L boiler (the 2017 manual fills to 1.4 L). 50 to 60 min per fill (manual: 50 max). | 11 min | Not stated. | Search Amazon for the Vapamore MR-100 Primo |
| Vapamore MR-1000 Forzaproduct page, manual | 1,900 W, about 15.8 A1,900 W stated, and 15 A. | Yes. A separate cold-water tank feeds the boiler. The product page says "Continuous Flow, No Down Time". | 75 psi peak (5 bar, manual) | 320 °F in the boiler, 284 °F peak at the tip | 8 L cold-water tank feeding a 4 L boiler (manual: 3.7 L). Steam time: "Continuous". | 9 min (manual: 7 to 10) | Not stated. | Search Amazon for the Vapamore MR-1000 Forza |
| Vapor Clean Pro6 Duoproduct page, user guide | 1,750 W, about 14.6 A1,750 W stated. Amps not stated. | Yes. A non-pressurized reservoir "pumps the water into the boiler as needed". | 87 psi (6 bar) | 327 °F in the boiler | 1.5 L refill reservoir feeding the boiler (the feature list says 2 qt). Per-fill time not stated. | 7 to 10 min | "Use properly rated extension cords". No rating given. | Search Amazon for the Vapor Clean Pro6 Duo |
| Kärcher SC 3 EasyFix (1.513-657.0)product page, product sheet, manual | 1,450 W, about 12.1 A1,450 W stated. Amps not stated. | Yes. The product page says it "can easily be refilled at any time, even while you're cleaning". | 44 psi (3 bar) | Not stated | 1 L (33.8 oz) tank. About 807 sq ft of cleaning per fill, the maker says. | 40 s (spec table; manual: about 60 s) | If needed: at least 15 A, 14 gauge. | Search Amazon for the Kärcher SC 3 EasyFix (1.513-657.0) |
Planner watts are the higher of the maker's stated watts and 120 volts × its stated amps. Volts × amps is at or above the true watts, so the figure errs high, which is the safe side for sizing. Vapamore MR-100 Primo, Vapor Clean Pro6 Duo, and Kärcher SC 3 EasyFix state watts only. Where a maker's own pages disagree, the table shows both figures, or the one in the maker's spec table.
Questions
How many watts does a steam cleaner use?
The 10 steam cleaners here list 1,450 W to 1,900 W at 120 volts, about 12.1 to 15.8 amps. Use the figure on your own unit's label.
Can I run a steam cleaner and a vacuum on one outlet?
Usually not at the same time. A 15 amp outlet at 120 volts gives 1,800 W, and these steamers use 1,450 W to 1,900 W, so at most 350 W is left. A 20 amp outlet leaves 500 W to 950 W. Dupray and McCulloch say to run no other high-wattage appliance on the same circuit. Run the two one after the other, or use separate circuits.
What size generator do I need for a steam cleaner?
Its running rating must cover the steamer's watts plus every tool that runs at the same time. Use the running figure, not the peak one. The maker pages we read give no starting figure for these steamers, but a vacuum or extractor motor needs extra watts as it starts. Add your other tools in the power planner to see the total.
Do I need a continuous refill steam cleaner?
Only if you steam for longer than one fill lasts. Five of the ten models here can be refilled while running. The others must be switched off and cooled before you open the cap. Their makers list 50 to 120 minutes of steam per fill.
Sources and limits
Each model's product page and manual or guide, linked in the table, read October 23, 2026. Nobody tested these machines for this page. The check adds the numbers you choose. It does not approve an outlet, cord, or generator. Read your own unit's label, then plan the whole job, with pressure washer and vacuum, in the power planner. For a fuel generator, follow the outdoor rules on that page.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details. The Amazon links are model-name searches. We did not review the listings.