Mobile setup tool
Mobile detailing power planner
Add the tools for one service, group them by the stages they run in, and see the largest running load and motor start. Then check a generator, power station, or customer outlet against it.
1. Tools for one service
Watts from each labelA stage is a part of the job where some tools run together, such as vacuuming, then extraction. Put a tool in every stage where it stays on. Use the running and starting watts from the label or manual of your exact model.
Tool 1
Label shows amps only? Volts × amps gives a figure at or above the true watts, so it errs high.The short extra demand when a motor starts. Leave blank if the manual does not say. For a light with no motor, enter the running watts again.Tool 2
Tool 3
2. Time per stage
Minutes, optionalNeeded only for the power station energy check. Enter the time the tools in each stage actually run.
3. Power sources to check
All optionalFill in any source you are thinking about. Use the ratings from its manual. A blank rating stays unknown; it is never counted as zero.
Power plan
Watts · watt-hoursAdd your first tool
Enter its running watts and pick the stage where it runs. The plan appears here as you type. Load the example to see how it works.
What size generator do you need for mobile detailing?
It depends on the tools you run at the same time, not on the biggest tool you own. Add the running watts of every tool in a stage. Then add the extra watts a motor needs for a moment as it starts. The generator must cover both: its running rating for the stage total, and its starting rating for the largest start.
Use the figures from the label or manual of your exact tools. Two vacuums or pressure washers of the same type can need very different power. A generic wattage chart is a guess, so the planner never fills one in for you.
The calculation
- Stage running load = the running watts of every tool in that stage.
- Start event = one tool's starting watts + the running watts of the other tools in its stage.
- Largest start = the biggest start event in any stage. If a tool has no starting figure, the start check stays unknown, unless the known part alone is already over the rating.
- Power station energy = each stage's running load × its minutes, added up, compared with 80% of the rated watt-hours.
- Outlet limit = 120 volts × the circuit's amps: 1,800 for 15 amps, 2,400 for 20 amps.
Worked example
These are example inputs from our generator guide, not figures for real tools. A vacuum runs at 900 watts and needs 1,500 to start. An extractor runs at 1,400 and needs 2,500 to start. A 60-watt work light stays on through both stages.
The vacuum stage runs at 960 watts and peaks at 1,560 when the vacuum starts. The extractor stage runs at 1,460 watts and peaks at 2,560 when the extractor starts. A generator rated 3,000 running and 3,300 starting covers both stages.
If the vacuum is still on when the extractor starts, the peak is 900 + 60 + 2,500 = 3,460 watts. That is 160 watts over the starting rating. Write the order on the job sheet: switch the vacuum off before you start the extractor.
Start one motor at a time
Honda's generator sizing advice is to start high-demand equipment at different times, so the starts do not add up. The planner assumes one motor starts while the others in its stage are already running. If two motors could start together, add both starting figures yourself.
Generator, power station, or the customer's outlet
- Generator: check its running and starting ratings, its outlets, and that you have a safe outdoor place to run it at every address.
- Battery power station: check its continuous output, its surge output for motor starts, and its stored energy for the time you work. It needs a charging plan.
- Customer's outlet: needs permission, a circuit with room for your load, and a cord that suits your tool. A result under the limit is not a pass, because other devices may share the circuit.
Labels that show amps
Many tools list amps, not watts. For a single-phase tool, volts × amps gives volt-amperes. True watts are equal or lower, so using volt-amperes as running watts errs on the high side, which is the safe side for sizing. Amps do not tell you the starting demand. Ask the maker for it.
Run a generator outdoors only
A fuel generator can cause fatal carbon monoxide poisoning. The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission says to use generators outside only, at least 20 feet from homes, with the exhaust facing away, and never inside homes or garages, even with doors and windows open. Treat a van or trailer the same way: never run a generator inside one. If a job site has no safe place to run it, the generator fails that job.
Sources and limits
Honda explains running and starting wattage and starting large loads at different times. EcoFlow's runtime guide separates capacity, continuous output, and surge, and gives 0.80 to 0.90 as a first-pass AC efficiency. Schneider Electric gives the volts × amps formula and notes that watts also need the power factor. The CPSC carbon monoxide page gives the outdoor and 20-foot rules. Sources reviewed October 14, 2026.
The planner compares numbers you enter. It does not approve a generator, outlet, cord, or job site. Check every rating against the manuals and test the real sequence before a paid job. Then plan the rest of the van or trailer with the mobile setup guide and the water tank planner. For steam cleaner and vacuum watts, see the steam cleaner comparison and the vacuum comparison.
Electric pressure washers for mobile detailing, compared
A washer on your own power and water passes three checks: the current it draws, the water supply its maker asks for, and tank feed. The table shows what the manuals and spec pages of nine models state.
- Tank feed: only the Kränzle K1622TS documents drawing water from a container by suction, with a lift and hose limit. The Kärcher K 5 Premium (1.603-361.0) sheet lists water suction hoses but gives no lift. The Ryobi RY142300 manual says the water must come from a water main. The rest state a minimum flow or inlet pressure, or nothing. To feed one of those from a tank, check that your pump meets that flow and pressure. The 12-volt pump comparison shows each pump's flow at 40 psi.
- Power: four reach 1,800 W in the planner, the whole limit of a 15 amp outlet at 120 volts. Active, Kärcher, and Ryobi ask for a dedicated or individual branch circuit.
- Starting watts: only one maker publishes one: Active 2.0 (SE01), 3,000 W. For the others the start check stays unknown until you get the figure from the maker.
- Extension cords: three of the nine models do not allow one at all. Place the generator or outlet within the washer's own cord.
| Model | Planner watts | Pressure and flow | Water per 10 min of spray | Water supply the maker asks for | From a tank? | Extension cord | Shop |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kränzle K1122TSTmanual, importer page | 1,800 W running120 V × 15 A (manual 14 A, U.S. importer 15 A) | Up to 1,400 psi, adjustable, 2.1 GPM listed | 21 gal | At least 2.1 GPM. Mains pressure 1 to 8 bar (the manual also says up to 10 bar). | Manual describes no water suction. The importer page says it self primes. | Allowed: 1.5 mm² wire, 2.5 mm² past 10 m. | Search Amazon for the Kränzle K1122TST |
| Kränzle K1622TSmanual, importer page | 1,800 W running120 V × 15 A (manual 14 A, U.S. importer 15 A) | 150 to 1,600 psi adjustable, 1.7 GPM listed | 17 gal | Mains pressure 1 to 10 bar (an older U.S. manual says 1 to 8). Minimum flow not stated. | Yes, by suction: up to 1 m (3.3 ft) lift, a hose of 3 m at most, with the suction filter (sold separately). Fill the pump and hose with water first. | Allowed: 1.5 mm² wire, 2.5 mm² past 10 m. | Search Amazon for the Kränzle K1622TS |
| Active 2.0 (SE01)manual, generator guide, FAQ, product page | 1,800 W running, 3,000 W startingActive's generator rating and surge | 1,100 psi rated, 1,800 peak, 2 GPM listed | 20 gal | At least 2 GPM (manual). Over 40 psi and 3 GPM (FAQ), or at least 40 psi and 4.8 GPM (product page). | Asked about gravity feed, the FAQ repeats the over 40 psi and over 3 GPM input. | Avoid. If used: 14 AWG, 50 ft at most. Dedicated 15 A circuit. | Search Amazon for the Active 2.0 (SE01) |
| Kärcher K1800PSmanual, product sheet | 1,560 W running120 V × 13 A | 1,800 psi operating, 1.2 GPM max | 12 gal | At least 2 GPM, through a hose of at least 5/8 in. | No suction rating. Needs the 2 GPM supply. | Not allowed. Individual branch circuit only. | Search Amazon for the Kärcher K1800PS |
| Kärcher K 5 Premium (1.603-361.0)manual, product sheet | 1,560 W running120 V × 13 A | 2,000 psi max, 1.4 GPM max | 14 gal | At least 2 GPM. | Manual: no suction rating. The product sheet lists water suction and 3 m or 5 m suction hoses (accessories), with no lift stated. Needs the 2 GPM supply. | Not allowed. Individual branch circuit only. | Search Amazon for the Kärcher K 5 Premium (1.603-361.0) |
| Sun Joe SPX3000manual (2023) | 1,740 W running120 V × 14.5 A | 1,450 psi rated, 1.24 GPM listed | 12.4 gal | At least the washer's own flow. Inlet pressure up to 0.7 MPa (about 100 psi). | Not stated. | Not recommended. If used: 14 gauge, 25 ft at most. | Search Amazon for the Sun Joe SPX3000 |
| AR Blue Clean AR383manual, FAQ | 1,800 W running120 V × 15 A | 1,900 psi max, 1.5 GPM max | 15 gal | Pressurized feed of 5 GPM for most home machines, or about twice the max flow (maker FAQ, all its electric washers). Turn the water on before the washer. | Only with a pressurized feed. The FAQ says a siphon hose will quickly destroy the pump. | Not allowed. | Search Amazon for the AR Blue Clean AR383 |
| Ryobi RY142300manual | 1,560 W running120 V × 13 A | 2,300 psi max, 1.2 GPM max | 12 gal | Must come from a water main. Cold water only. | Not documented. The manual says the water must come from a water main, never pools or lakes. | Not recommended. If used: 12 AWG, 25 ft at most. 50 ft not allowed. | Search Amazon for the Ryobi RY142300 |
| Greenworks 2000 PSI 1.2 GPM (GPW2003)product page | 1,680 W running120 V × 14 A | 2,000 psi max, 1.2 GPM max | 12 gal | Inlet 45 to 75 psi, 60 psi ideal. Below 45 psi it will not pressurize properly. | No suction rating. Needs 45 to 75 psi at the inlet. | Not stated on the GPW2003 page. | Search Amazon for the Greenworks 2000 PSI 1.2 GPM (GPW2003) |
Planner watts are 120 volts × the highest current the maker's pages give. Volts × amps is at or above the true watts, so the figure errs high, which is the safe side for sizing. Active publishes its own generator figures, and the planner uses them. Where a maker's pages disagree on current, the table shows both. Some makers give max figures and others rated ones, so the two do not compare directly.
Water per 10 minutes is the listed flow × 10, with the trigger held. Use it with your own spray time in the water tank planner. The maker's minimum supply is a separate check: it can be higher than the washer's own flow.
Adding a foam cannon? Some cannon makers set a minimum flow above what several of these washers deliver. The foam cannon comparison checks each of these washers against each cannon maker's limits and orifice rule.
Sources: each model's manual, spec pages, and FAQ, linked in the table, read October 23, 2026. Nobody tested these machines for this table. For two set-up costs with hoses and warranty terms, see the pressure washer guide.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details. The Amazon links are model-name searches. We did not review the listings.
Compare power sources
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Details. These are searches, not recommendations. Compare each listing's ratings with your plan, and pick a cord gauge your tool manual allows.